Questions? Feedback? powered by Olark live chat software

Welcome to the free forums from LandlordAccounting.com. Thousands of Landlords trust our training to learn how to manage rental properties in QuickBooks. You can buy our guide, browse the forums, or read testimonials ♥.

Registration temporarily disabled due to spammers. Please contact us via contact form.

Abandoning Quicken Rental Property Manager to use Quickbooks.

• katrina
    I have been using Quicken RPM (2009) for several years. I have been using QB Pro (2011) even longer for a small business that we have been running for 35 years. We are now closing that "business" and growing the rental property business. I would like start using QB for our rental property business, and move all the rental property info (bank accounts, vendors, etc) from Quicken RPM. Is this possible, or do I just start fresh in January 2012 by setting up all new rental accounts in QB?

Also, one of the features I do love in QRPM was the free document attachment feature. QB 2011 charges a fee for that even if it's local storage. QB 2012 now includes that feature (only local storage) with the program. I guess I'll have to upgrade again! :(
  • Hello Katrina,

Thanks for the message. Can you share why you want to move off of RPM for your business? I'm curious if your frustrations are similar to the other people's I've worked with, or if there are different problems that you encountered.

Either way, probably switching over in Jan 2012 is the easiest way. If you want to export, it is probably possible, but the question is what benefit will you get for the cost in additional effort. If you have all historical transactions available in RPM, and new transactions in QB's, then everything is still available, and you did not have to migrate old data into a new system.
    By Jonathan Wolter Google+
    Author and ProAdvisor. Landlord Accounting eBook and sample files. ♥ Read Testimonials ♥